“Legal Outsourcing” at CLARIUS.LEGAL combines the work and profile of an external law firm with internal support. On a case by case basis, CLARIUS.LEGAL and their client will define the scope of the cooperation as well as the responsibilities.

 

Managing the legal matters of a company is the primary task of an in-house legal department. They typically do much more, however. In-house lawyers will also advise other departments with their legal expertise and ensure that projects are conceptualized in a contractually compliant manner from the start.

More...

Outsourcing the entire legal department is possible as is outsourcing individual legal matters. These services can also be combined with others like contract management or contract analysis.

In many cases it is reasonable to handle legal tasks in-house at the company, and in direct collaboration with management and the concerned departments. An in-house legal department, however, binds a huge amount of resources. At the same time, it is almost impossible for an in-house legal department to possess the comprehensive legal expertise necessary to cover the various projects as well as the highly complex changes which every company experiences.

Besides the assumption of the full legal department, CLARIUS.LEGAL also manages individual legal subtasks for clients. CLARIUS.LEGAL can take care of individual fields of law such as data privacy or provide legal support for cases in a specific area of work (such as damage claims). This differentiation can also be made on an organisational basis by CLARIUS.LEGAL assuming responsibility for certain specific tasks (for example reporting security or data privacy breaches to authorities) or assisting individual specialist departments.

Relevant experience, a close involvement with the company to be regulated, and good cooperation with specialist departments are necessary to competently exercise regulatory functions. CLARIUS.LEGAL guarantees these prerequisites. The law firm has long-term experience and the appropriate expertise, especially in the telecommunications and energy sector. CLARIUS.LEGAL has extensive contacts at the German Federal Network Agency (Bundesnetzagentur) and therefore can both arrange for informal solutions and conduct formal procedures.

Companies in the telecommunications and energy sectors with their own supply networks are regularly affected by litigation. These can, for example, be a result of their own infrastructure being breached or the property of third parties being damaged during construction activities. Public easement holders also file claims which have to be processed. CLARIUS.LEGAL has developed a concept which relieves the companies concerned of legal and organisational tasks from the beginning (upon receipt of a damage claim or request) up until court proceedings or settlement. The client defines the scope of consultation. This can range from the approval of each individual step to practically autonomous processing of the cases by CLARIUS.LEGAL.

In accordance with Sec. 38 of the new German Federal Protection Act (BDSG), a data protection officer has to be appointed if more than ten of a company’s employees are regularly engaged in the automated processing of personal data. The data protection officer must have verified expertise and is responsible for compliance with statutory requirements. CLARIUS.LEGAL prepares the client for the requirements of the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the new German Federal Data Protection Act (BDSG).

The German Money Laundering Act regulates all financing services providers, insurance companies, trust companies, real estate brokers or companies that trade commercially with goods. In accordance with Sec. 3 of this Act, these companies have obligations to exercise due diligence and to monitor transactions. These obligations in particular include the training of employees, the drafting of work or organisational instructions or the introduction of control processes. In accordance with Sec. 9 (3) of the German Money Laundering Act, the observation of obligations under the German Money Laundering Act can be outsourced to an external money laundering officer. CLARIUS.LEGAL assumes all duties of a money laundering officer.

The companies which have to appoint an IT security officer include telecommunications companies in accordance with Sec. 109 (4) of the German Telecommunications Act. In light of the increasing risks posed by cyberattacks, the appointment of an IT security officer makes sense for all companies, even if it is not required by law. The tasks of an IT security officer are, for example, developing a comprehensive IT protection concept and training employees on a regular basis. An IT security officer also supports the management with respect to organisational and legal measures for increasing IT security and advises on the integration of security-relevant software and hardware. CLARIUS.LEGAL assumes all the duties of an IT security officer.

In accordance with Sec. 22a of the German Banking Act, credit institutions are allowed to keep a refinancing register. Put simply, this is where rights, such as claims and the associated collateral, and their holders are recorded. If such a register exists, banks have to appoint an (external) manager for this. They propose a manager to the German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (Bundesanstalt fĂĽr Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht) which then appoints the manager. The expertise, independence and reliability of the manager in particular are to be ensured. CLARIUS.LEGAL provides banks with a qualified refinancing register manager at a fixed price.

In accordance with Sec. 128 (1) of the German Insurance Supervision Act, life insurance companies, private health and nursing care insurance companies and certain accident insurance companies have to appoint a trustee to monitor guarantee assets. Specifically, the supervisory board of the insurance company has to do this. The German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (Bundesanstalt fĂĽr Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht) must confirm the trustee beforehand. CLARIUS.LEGAL provides insurance companies with suitable guarantee assets trustees.

Example Legal Outsourcing

SCENARIO

A technical manufacture company steeped in tradition is embedded in corporate structures and needs additional resources to support its legal department. Currently, the legal department does not currently have enough personnel resources to internally manage their often-fragmented daily business.

 

SOLUTION

CLARIUS.LEGAL provides half a resource; the monthly hours will be flexibly assigned to the best qualified CLARIUS.LEGAL employee depending on the task at hand. Thanks to their excellent English skills, all employees are capable of handling matters from all areas of the corporation. These tasks range from contract reviews and legal assessments in all fields of law to preparation for the General Data Protection Regulation (Datenschutz-Grundverordnung) and support with communications with authorities and trade partners.

‚ÄěLegal Outsourcing‚Äú bei CLARIUS.LEGAL verbindet die T√§tigkeit und das Profil einer externen Kanzlei mit der internen Betreuung. Dabei legen Mandant und CLARIUS.LEGAL gemeinsam den Umfang der Zusammenarbeit sowie die Zust√§ndigkeiten fest.

 

Die Rechtsangelegenheiten eines Unternehmens zu betreuen, ist die prim√§re Aufgabe einer internen Rechtsabteilung. Doch in der Regel leistet sie weitaus mehr.¬†So unterst√ľtzen interne Juristen Fachabteilungen mit ihre juristischen Expertise und stellen sicher, dass Projekte von Anfang an vertragstauglich aufgesetzt werden.

Mehr...

Eine vollständige Übernahme der Rechtsabteilung durch CLARIUS.LEGAL ist genauso möglich wie die einzelner juristischer Funktionen. Auch können diese Dienstleistungen mit anderen kombiniert werden, etwa dem Vertragsmanagement oder der Vertragsanalyse.

Es ist in vielen F√§llen sinnvoll, juristische Aufgaben vor Ort im Unternehmen und in direkter Zusammenarbeit mit dem Management und den Fachabteilungen zu erledigen. Doch bindet eine eigene Rechtsabteilung auch erhebliche Ressourcen. Gleichzeitig ist es nahezu unm√∂glich, dass die eigene Rechtsabteilung das jeweils notwendige juristische Know-how umfassend f√ľr die vielf√§ltigen Projekte sowie die hoch komplexen Ver√§nderungen, die Unternehmen durchlaufen, vorh√§lt.

Neben der vollst√§ndigen √úbernahme der Rechtsabteilung erledigt¬†CLARIUS.LEGAL auch einzelne juristische Teilaufgaben f√ľr Mandanten. Dabei kann CLARIUS.LEGAL sich um einzelne Rechtsgebiete wie Datenschutz k√ľmmern oder F√§lle eines bestimmten Arbeitsbereichs juristisch betreuen (etwa Schadensf√§lle). Die Abgrenzung kann auch organisatorisch erfolgen, indem¬†CLARIUS.LEGAL konkrete Aufgaben (etwa Beh√∂rdenmeldungen bei Datenschutzverletzungen) √ľbernimmt oder bestimmte Abteilungen unterst√ľtzt.

Um Regulierungsfunktionen kompetent auszu√ľben, sind entsprechende Erfahrung, eine enge Einbindung in das¬†zu regulierende Unternehmen und eine gute Zusammenarbeit mit den Fachabteilungen notwendig. Diese Voraussetzungen gew√§hrleistet CLARIUS.LEGAL. Besonders in den Branchen Telekommunikation und Energie verf√ľgt die Kanzlei √ľber langj√§hrige Erfahrung und bringt entsprechende Kompetenz mit. CLARIUS.LEGAL hat umfangreiche Kontakte in die BNetzA und kann so sowohl informelle L√∂sungswege arrangieren als auch formale Verfahren f√ľhren.

Unternehmen der Telekommunikations- und der Energiebranche mit eigenen Leitungsnetzen sind regelm√§√üig von Verfahren betroffen. Sie ergeben sich zum Beispiel, wenn die eigene Infrastruktur verletzt wurde oder wenn das Eigentum Dritter bei Bauma√ünahmen besch√§digt wird. Schlie√ülich stellen auch Wegebaulasttr√§ger Anspr√ľche, die zu bearbeiten sind. Hier hat¬†CLARIUS.LEGAL ein Konzept entwickelt, welches das betroffene Unternehmen von Anfang an (bei Eingang der Schadensmeldung oder Anforderung) bis zum gerichtlichen Verfahren oder zum Vergleich von juristischen und organisatorischen Aufgaben entlastet. Dabei entscheidet der Mandant √ľber den Abstimmungsumfang. Dieser reicht von der Freigabe jedes einzelnen Schrittes bis zur nahezu selbstst√§ndigen Bearbeitung der F√§lle durch CLARIUS.LEGAL.

Gem√§√ü¬†¬ß 38 BDSG (neu) muss ein Datenschutzbeauftragter dann bestellt werden, wenn in einem Unternehmen¬†in der Regel mindestens zehn¬†Personen st√§ndig mit der automatisierten Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten besch√§ftigt sind. Der Datenschutzbeauftragte muss √ľber eine nachgewiesene Fachkunde verf√ľgen und ist zust√§ndig f√ľr die Einhaltung gesetzlicher Anforderungen. CLARIUS.LEGAL bereitet den Mandanten auf die Anforderungen der EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO) und dem Bundesdatenschutzgesetz (BDSG-neu) vor.

Unter das Geldw√§schegesetz fallen Finanzdienstleister, Versicherungsunternehmen, Treuhandgesellschaften, Immobilienmakler oder Unternehmen, die gewerblich mit G√ľtern handeln. Gem√§√ü ¬ß 3 GWG unterliegen diese Unternehmen Sorgfalts- und √úberwachungspflichten. Zu den Pflichten geh√∂ren die Schulung von Mitarbeitern, die Erstellung von Arbeits- und Organisationsanweisungen oder die Einf√ľhrung von Kontrollverfahren. Nach ¬ß 9 Abs. 3 GWG kann die Beachtung der Pflichten des GWG an einen externen Geldw√§schebeauftragten ausgelagert werden. CLARIUS.LEGAL √ľbernimmt s√§mtliche Aufgaben eines Geldw√§schebeauftragten.

Zu den Unternehmen, die einen IT-Sicherheitsbeauftragten ernennen m√ľssen, geh√∂ren Telekommunikationsunternehmen gem√§√ü ¬ß 109 Abs. 4 TKG. Angesichts zunehmender Gefahren durch Cyberattacken ist die Bestellung eines IT-Sicherheitsbeauftragten f√ľr alle Unternehmen sinnvoll ‚Äď auch wenn sie gesetzlich nicht dazu verpflichtet sind. Aufgaben eines IT-Sicherheitsbeauftragten¬†sind zum Beispiel, ein umfassendes IT-Schutzkonzept zu entwickeln und Mitarbeiter regelm√§√üig zu schulen. Weiterhin unterst√ľtzt er die Gesch√§ftsleitung bei organisatorischen und rechtlichen Ma√ünahmen zur Erh√∂hung der IT-Sicherheit und ber√§t bei der Integration von sicherheitsrelevanter Soft- und Hardware. CLARIUS.LEGAL √ľbernimmt s√§mtliche Aufgaben eines IT-Sicherheitsbeauftragten.

Kreditinstitute k√∂nnen nach ¬ß¬ß 22a KWG ein Refinanzierungsregister f√ľhren. Vereinfacht gesagt tragen sie hier Rechte, beispielsweise Forderungen und zugeh√∂rige Sicherheiten, und deren Inhaber ein. Gibt es ein solches Register, m√ľssen Banken einen (externen) Verwalter hierf√ľr bestellen. Sie schlagen der Bundesanstalt f√ľr Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht einen Verwalter vor, die ihn dann bestellt. Insbesondere Sachkunde, Unabh√§ngigkeit und Zuverl√§ssigkeit des Verwalters sind zu gew√§hrleisten. CLARIUS.LEGAL stellt Banken qualifizierte Refinanzierungsregisterverwalter zu Festpreisen bereit.

Lebensversicherungen, private Kranken- und Pflegepflichtversicherungen und bestimmte Unfallversicherungen m√ľssen nach ¬ß 128 Abs. 1 VAG einen Treuh√§nder zur √úberwachung des Sicherungsverm√∂gens bestellen. Konkret muss der Aufsichtsrat des Versicherungsunternehmens dies tun. Zuvor muss die Bundesanstalt f√ľr Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht den Treuh√§nder best√§tigen. CLARIUS.LEGAL stellt Versicherungen geeignete Sicherungsverm√∂genstreuh√§nder.

Beispiel Legal Outsourcing

ANFORDERUNG

Ein traditionsreiches, in Konzernstrukturen eingebundenes Unternehmen aus der klassisch-technischen Industrie-Branche ben√∂tigt zur Unterst√ľtzung¬†seiner Rechtsabteilung zus√§tzliche Ressourcen. Die Rechtsabteilung verf√ľgt aktuell nicht √ľber gen√ľgend eigene personelle Ressourcen, um das oft kleinteilige Alltagsgesch√§ft intern abzubilden.

 

L√ĖSUNG

CLARIUS.LEGAL stellt eine halbe Ressource zur Verf√ľgung, wobei die monatlichen Stunden flexibel durch den jeweils bestqualifizierten CLARIUS.LEGAL-Mitarbeiter geleistet werden. Alle Mitarbeiter sind durch ausgezeichnete Englischkenntnisse auch in der Lage, konzern√ľbergreifende Sachverhalte zu betreuen. Diese reichen von Vertragspr√ľfungen √ľber rechtliche Einsch√§tzungen auf verschiedensten¬†Rechtsgebieten¬†und die Vorbereitung auf die¬†neue Datenschutzgrundverordnung bis hin¬†zur Unterst√ľtzung bei der Kommunikation mit Beh√∂rden und Handelspartnern.